Nonhuman people

Peter Singer
Those of my friends who have read Bobbing Around for years know that this is one of my hobbyhorses: Other animals are sentient beings who feel pain, respond to their situation, remember past events, experience emotions like joy and grief, demonstrate motivation… Labelling this statement as “anthropomorphism” is, in Peter Singer’s opinion, speciesism.

Please read this fascinating interview with Peter on the issue.

About Dr Bob Rich

I am a professional grandfather. My main motivation is to transform society to create a sustainable world in which my grandchildren and their grandchildren in perpetuity can have a life, and a life worth living. This means reversing environmental idiocy that's now threatening us with extinction, and replacing culture of greed and conflict with one of compassion and cooperation.
This entry was posted in compassion, philosophy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment