I want to die before the horrors of the near-future get me

Dear Dr. Rich,

Please forgive me for sending you such an awful message but I’ve read some of your stuff on your blog, and you may be the only person who understands. My friends laugh at me. My mom wants to send me to the doctor for antidepressants. I can’t eat for worry. Used to be the best in my class at school for math and English and science, but now I am falling behind because, oh shit, what’s the point in studying if everything collapses before I become an adult?

Did you know, the UN says there are wars in 38 countries. I can’t bear to look at the news because of the horrors in Gaza, and I read this interview with a writer in Ukraine that had me crying.

Then there is cancer. I am only 16, but 5 kids in my school has cancer. 5! Only 4 really because one died because his family couldn’t afford the next treatment. Can you just imagine how they feel? Who wants to live in a world where some people play with blasting rockets to space because they can’t think of what else to do with their money, and Brian can die because his family went broke covering his medical costs.

My town got hit by a tornado, and we are well out of tornado country, or hell, used to be out of tornado country. And I know lots of people who “don’t believe” in climate change!!! They will vote for Trump because he doesn’t either.

That’s the next thing. After the election in November, I reckon we’ll have the Second Civil War. What can be civil about neighbors killing each other?

And the ocean currents are going to stop anytime and that will raise sea levels in my state with all sorts of crap happening.

So who wants to live in the world what’s coming?

You call yourself a Professional Grandfather on your blog. Can you please adopt me as your granddaughter?

Hope you reply.

Jackie.

    Jackie my dear,

    Indeed, you are welcome to join my global tribe of grandchildren. You have all my love, and we are very much kindred spirits.

    And yes, I believe I can be of service to you in growing up into a GOOD life.

    First, I suspect you don’t realize how intelligent you are. This is not a typical 16-year-old’s writing or thinking. Blessed are the stupid, because they can’t see past their noses. And literary skills are falling, but you expressed yourself beautifully.

    Intelligence is a tool for solving problems, and is a responsibility. Look at Greta Thunberg. Like you, she was devastated when she learned the facts about climate change. She couldn’t eat, she couldn’t sleep. She even stopped speaking. Then she started her Friday school strike, and you know what happened. Recently, a bunch of Swiss grandmothers won a court case they launched because Greta inspired them. Now their country is forced to act on the climate catastrophe.

    Greta is one of my inspirations. Join her.

    Second, you and I are handicapped by too much empathy. Tell me: what’s better, to feel compassion for the suffering of others, or to avoid the pain by being an uncaring, cruel psychopath? (I feel free to use technical terms because I am confident you’ll look up any you’re not sure of).

    At my blog, you’ll find a chapter from my book on depression that sets out some of the evidence for reincarnation. There is also surprisingly strong evidence from “near-death experiences” and claimed communications from people who have died. In both cases, some claims include information not known to the person that has been found true when checked by an independent investigator.

    From a wide range of evidence like this, I am confident that there is meaning and purpose to life. We all start as an infant soul, then grow spiritually life after life until we graduate to enlightenment and don’t need to return anymore. The Dalai Lama has said, “The aim of enlightenment is to be of service,” and “My religion is kindness.” I have no doubt that Jesus was an enlightened spirit who returned in order to be of service.

    Where am I going with this? A metaphor will explain. I dislocated a shoulder in 2009. Two months later, my rehabilitation was to play basketball with myself. This exercised the muscles and gave me confidence.

    OK. I shoot for the basket. Does it matter if I get it in? The aim is to improve my shoulder, right?

    One of my personal cliches is, “Only two things matter in life. What you take with you when you die, and what you leave behind in the hearts of others.”

    So, Jackie my dear, follow Greta in doing everything you can in averting disaster and creating a future for your generation, and your children’s and grandchildren’s in perpetuity. But don’t get hung up on outcome. All that matters is that you are of service, and grow spiritually.

    This’ll do for now, but please write back, and we’ll then explore a few tools for staying sane, strong and effective in a world gone mad. I cover all these tools in my book on depression. Because money often costs more than it’s worth, I am happy to email you a free copy.
    Your new, loving grandfather,
    Bob

About Dr Bob Rich

I am a professional grandfather. My main motivation is to transform society to create a sustainable world in which my grandchildren and their grandchildren in perpetuity can have a life, and a life worth living. This means reversing environmental idiocy that's now threatening us with extinction, and replacing culture of greed and conflict with one of compassion and cooperation.
This entry was posted in compassion, Psychology and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I want to die before the horrors of the near-future get me

  1. This post touched me deeply. I totally understand this young lady’s thinking. It’s hard to find hope for a better world as it crumbles around us. Your advice to her is spot on and I would add, that she might benefit from writing her deepest thoughts and fears, whether in a diary or in a fiction story.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. fionalemmon says:

    Dear Bob, I am very moved by the angst of this very sensitive young lady. I hope she will make the most of the education and opportunities available to her. She has the power to become a social activist and I feel she was put on this Earth to use her empathy to help others going through the same experiences and emotions that she is having right now. She is a special person. Fiona

    Liked by 1 person

  3. delia5588 says:

    I very much enjoyed this post. 🙂 Jackie, you are wise beyond your years. You will do great things in this life. I feel it. You and Bob definitely seem like Kindered spirits. He gave you great advice.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. mybooknks1 says:

    G’day Jackie. My name is Trevor. You’ve made contact with the right bloke. Dr Rich is a friend I’ve never met, though one I’ve admired for many years. You can rely on his advice; he’s a straight shooter and already has your concerns in his mind and heart.

    Jackie, have you considered joining a sporting club? Or do you have a good bicycle? Both gave me confidence (at about your age) to achieve a lot of (unexpected) things, including making several like-minded people who became long-term friends. In hindsight, the beauty in those participations was that I never had time to devote to either thinking, or worrying about, matters which were bugging me at that time.

    Good luck Jackie.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment