Humanity at its best

dimoore
A friend of ours, Di Moore, has been a major force in our little township of Healesville for 40 years. Her achievements are too many to list, but include being on the Shire Council. She even was the Mayor for a term, and was influential in introducing several environmentally excellent measures.

She is leaving, in order to live closer to her daughters. My wife and I just returned from a farewell party for her.

I am not much for chatting, and mostly simply stood around and observed people, although many were old friends. I enjoyed the ambiance, and the nibbles. (“Everyone bring something” always ends up with 10 times as much as needed, and I did my duty to help dispose of a little.)

There are always speeches at such occasions, but these ones were from the heart. Di has been a member of a women’s quire, and joined them in singing.

To my surprise, sitting in a back corner, I found tears in my eyes.

Why?

Here I was, seeing humanity at its best. The 30 or 40 people in the little hall all have faults, can behave badly from time to time, and yes, that includes me. All the same, what was happening here was love, friendship, cooperation, gentle humour, creativity, generosity.

All this while, as these ladies were harmonising, Donald and Kim are preparing to irradiate the planet, kill tens of thousands of people and perhaps start the third world war. All this while, corporations like Monsanto are poisoning everyone including penguins in Antarctica, the animals of the deep, and their own executives and shareholders. All this while, the 1% are committing suicide, and taking the entire life support system of the planet with them.

It was this contrast that made me cry. Can we not all be like Di Moore, and give in public service and caring? Can we not all be like this group of locals whose only reason for gathering was to give happiness to an old lady?

This is what the world needs instead of division and hatred, greed and paranoia. Unknowingly, the people at this party have inspired me to do my best to continue on my chosen path of culture change.

Please join me.

About Dr Bob Rich

I am a professional grandfather. My main motivation is to transform society to create a sustainable world in which my grandchildren and their grandchildren in perpetuity can have a life, and a life worth living. This means reversing environmental idiocy that's now threatening us with extinction, and replacing culture of greed and conflict with one of compassion and cooperation.
This entry was posted in philosophy. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Humanity at its best

  1. Jolanda says:

    Yes to the above keep working on it !!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

