Chatting with Rita Chapman

The interview is now here

Rita Chapman follows the rule: “The more you give, the more you get. She induces people like me to send people to her web site through interviewing other authors.

She has just let me know that our interview is up, for your enjoyment. I hope it gives you a laugh or three.

PS If you go there now, you’ll read an interview with someone else. Her interview with me is has been transplanted here.

Unfortunately, Rita’s web platform doesn’t allow comments to be posted, so we have an arrangement. When you’ve read her questions and my dubious answers, please come here, and leave a comment below.

There are two prizes.

Every commenter will be randomly selected to have a warm glow of satisfaction. This is standard for everyone commenting at Bobbing Around.

Second, one person leaving a comment here before the 21st of December, 2016 may choose a FREE copy of any of my books that’s available in electronic format. This is Hit and Run, or 14 of my 15 other titles. You can check them out here. I’ll select the lucky person via a random number generator.


The Interview

Rita’s interview with me is being replaced today, Monday 5th December. By arrangement with her, I am reproducing it below, so you can STILL leave a comment, until 21st December, to be in the running for a free book.

Guest Author Questions

for www.ritaleechapman.com

Rita

This week it is my pleasure to interview Dr Bob Rich. Would you please introduce yourself to my readers and share something about your life.

Bob

I wonder if any of your respondents has said, “No! that’s none of your business!”

It’s all right, I won’t either. After all, it’s public already, at my writing site and on my blog.

The main thing about me is that I am a professional grandfather. Anyone on this planet under perhaps 25 years of age qualifies as my grandkid. I want to have a future for them all, and a future worth surviving in. I’ve been doing my best to work for this since 1972, only, back then I thought of myself as a father.

Rita

When did you write your first book and how did it come about?

Bob

My first book was published in 1986, but I didn’t write it then. The writing started in 1980 because I played soccer with some kids. Again, being a contrary kind of fellow, I am tempted to say no more, but I’ll behave myself.

In 1972, I was writing up my Ph.D. I had little kids, and was wondering, what kind of world would they grow up in? So, when I was falling asleep in the library (I couldn’t, because I was Mr Rich to some 900 students), I read up on futurology: the projection of current trends into the future. The findings were horrendous: I accurately predicted today’s world.

So, I decided to do something about it, and as a result, 4 years later I was living in a rural cooperative community (no, not a commune), building my own mudbrick house with my own hot little hands. Oh, “mubrick” is adobe to people unfortunate enough to live outside Australia.

Communities like that are fantastic for raising self-reliant, socially intelligent, strong kids. A bunch of them were playing soccer, boys against girls, and needed one more male. They kidnapped me, and I played, muddy boots and all. I slipped, tearing a cartilage in the knee, and had an involuntary holiday in hospital. To fill the time, I wrote my first ever magazine article, on a method of making mudbricks I invented. This was published in Earth Garden magazine, and I ended up as the regular contributor on how to build for over 35 years. My first book grew out of this: my articles reworked, combined with many other contributors, and with essays from the magazine’s publisher, Keith Smith.

The Earth Garden Building Book went through 4 editions, and sold hundreds of thousands of copies in the small Australian market. I have a few copies and occasionally sell one. I think it’s still available through Australian bookshops.

Rita

Do you always write in the same genre or do you mix it up?

Bob

Some people are square pegs in round holes. I am a fractal-shaped peg that makes its own hole, and it’s easy to look up the meaning of “fractal” on the internet. I simply have never been able to fit into other people’s categories. I write what I want to write, and people can put them into whatever boxes they like.

OK, let’s do the best we can:

  • Four self-help books: on building your own house; Woodworking for Idiots Like Me; on handling Anger and Anxiety; and Cancer: A personal challenge, which is about living on our cancer planet.
    woodcover-thumb2
  • Another nonfiction book is 50 of my answers to email cries of desperation, showing how email therapy can make a huge difference.
  • Anikó: The stranger who loved me is a multiple-award-winning biography about a woman who survived the unsurvivable, and achieved the impossible, more than once.
    aniko05-thumb

Then there is fiction (which is actually fact, once I have invented it). In reverse chronological order:

  • Hit and Run is due to be published by Writers’ Exchange within the next few months. I am now seeking advance reviews for it, so this is YOUR chance of a free copy. You can read the first chapter at the book’s prepublication page. It is contemporary fiction with a paranormal element. An old lady is working to reform a 14 year old multiple murderer, and leads the victims’ relatives from wishes of vengeance to using the greatest force in the universe: unconditional love. But there is no preaching in the book, only unremitting action.
  • Ascending Spiral was my best book until Hit and Run. It’s actually my life story, fictionalised in order to protect the guilty. (Lawyers are SO expensive!). Only, I made the hero, Pip, the person I’d like to be. It traces my history through several lives, until the present. So, it’s historical fiction through four periods, and bits of what this ignorant world thinks of as science fiction.
    ascending.jpg
  • Sleeper, Awake is a science fiction novel that won an international award. Flora Fielding went into hibernation to wait until there was a cure for cancer, but awoke into a very different world, 1433 years later, after we in the 21st Century have destroyed everything. I think you’ll like this new world. For one thing, women rule, and men do everything possible to impress them.
    sleeper_thumb
  • Three short story collections:
    • Bizarre Bipeds consists of a 50,000 word novella, Liberator, and 3 shorter stories. Horrid monsters came from space enslaving the people, doing terrible things. It took a little boy to bring them to justice. Only, the monsters from space were humans, and the little boy’s people were green, with three arms, three legs and no head.The three shorter bits are: a romance between a smart boy who earned the right to go to Venus and the girl who was about to kill him; a young girl who saved the horrible-looking alien from being punished; and a lost person from the centre of the galaxy who thanked humanity in a way the military hadn’t anticipated.
      bizarre
    • Through Other Eyes is 30 short stories of very varied genre. In all of them, you can look through the eyes of an experienced psychologist who looks through the eyes of very different people living in all sorts of realities. Examples are a single mother of two whose little son refuses to learn to read; a man who can’t stand his wage slavery, but then his wife offers him a terrifying alternative; a crime mystery in the Antarctic; and how a young postman ALMOST got to use his condom.
    • Striking Back from Down Under is 26 short stories, several of them contest winners. The common theme is that the underdog finds the resources to defeat the bully. Also, as the title suggests, there is a strong Australian theme in most of the stories. A severely crippled artist gets his revenge against the contemptuous blonde; the 15 year old kid kills his girlfriend’s sexual molester and has his abusive stepfather jailed for the crime; and Susie uses a pot of spaghetti bolognaise to defeat the master criminal. You can also find my version of Dr. Seuss’ The Lorax, and how the extraterrestrial duck hunted the hunter.striking

    • My oldest fiction writing is a series of four novels: The Stories of the Ehvelen. The Ehvelen were (or perhaps still are, if any survive), the REAL little people, the origin of all the many myths. The books tell some of the history of 30 years of war that turned peaceful forest dwellers into the Mother’s sword against slavery, cruelty, exploitation, and the defenders of the wild places. We surely need them today!

      Rita

      When you write, do you start with an idea and sit down and let it evolve, or do you make notes and collect ideas on paper beforehand?

      Bob

      Paper? PAPER? As in minced trees? It’s not real until it’s in my computer. Besides, I can’t read my own handwriting. So, I think on the keyboard, which has dozens of advantages.

      During the first 10 years or so of writing fiction, I meticulously plotted it all out, but now I think up a situation, and some people in it, and let them tell me what happens, how and why.

      It’s a bit like cooking. A beginner needs to follow the recipe exactly. The experienced cook will adapt a recipe to suit what’s available. The chef writes the recipe. And the master chef cooks as if there was no need for a recipe, although if you analyse the actions, the recipe is implicit.

      The same is true for writing. The story goes where it goes, but if you analyse it afterward, there is a clear plot line and everything falls into place. Sleeper, Awake was the first full-length book I wrote that way, and the ending gave me a huge surprise.

      Rita

      Would you like to give us a short excerpt from one of your books?

      Bob

      Wow. That’s a challenge. There is so much. Can’t I just have all my books here?

      OK, here is the start of Cruelty and Compassion, the lead story in Striking Back from Down Under.

        Young women are a sweet agony, a toyshop I’ll never enter. I’m a moth, forever singeing the wings of my soul, stupidly circling toward destruction.

        Courting ridicule, courting rejection, I instruct my prison on wheels to advance across the Esplanade, stopping against the wrought iron railing.

        And there’s my other love, the one giving me nothing but joy. Way out, the rollers rise, turn from azure to turquoise, relentlessly rush the shore until their front is an impossible incline, and their tops boil with foam, until they break and fall with a roar of thunder. The concrete under my wheels vibrates with the shock of their ever-repeated assault.

        A thousand times have I seen the beach, in all its moods, and always it is different. A dozen times have I tried to capture the grandeur in my paintings. Others praise my work, even with the ultimate praise of a purchase, though they know nothing of the twisted wreck I am. To me, my attempts are ever short of the real: the living sea meeting the immovable shore.

        The beach is an expanse of gold sprinkled with people. Wherever my eyes roam, they light upon rounded breasts seeking to escape skimpy restraints, flaring hips, flashing legs, hair of gold and chestnut and anthracite blown by the breath of the sea.

        Torture.

        Someone casts a shadow. A head intrudes between me and the sun. “Disgusting,” a cold female voice says. “They should lock things like that away.”

        “Don’t be unkind.” This is from a higher voice, perhaps even younger. “He can hear you.”

        A tinkling laugh follows, a musical sound of amusement that chainsaws into my heart. “Who says he can even hear? Or if he can, would he understand? That thing?”

        I should pretend. I should be the idiot of her supposition. I should sit, mute and immobile and invisibly bleeding, and wait for them to move on before returning to my lair. But my lips click the control and my tongue turns the little ball. My chair spins on the spot, and I face them.

        Long, shapely, suntanned legs end at tomato-red panties so brief that little blonde pubic hairs peek out each side, mocking me. Smooth brown abdomen stretches to luscious red-clothed swellings above, the nipples outlined against the material. Still higher, a heart-shaped face is framed by hair of deep gold, lighter at the tips. The cruel, scornful eyes are blue, blue, bluer than the sea. A little, pert nose, a grimace of distaste on the full lips I’ll never kiss.

        Beyond, long straight hair of burnished bronze partly hides a plain face, covered with freckles. Her eyes, same colour as her hair, look through thick blue-rimmed glasses. She wears a shapeless white T-shirt and a pair of shorts, but even these don’t hide the chubbiness of her torso. There is no cruelty here, but I see worse: pity.

        Language is a snail. Better than a picture, better than a photograph, all this I’ve seen in an instant, and it will be with me for all of my life. Fate has imposed the cruelty of cerebral palsy but was kind with eidetic imagery: whenever I choose, one glance gives me a record I can see at will, and later examine in the minutest detail. This is my liberation, my sanity, my ecstasy, the tool of my work.

        During that instant, I see the red-haired girl start forward. She is past her friend, then between her and me, and she bends. The salty breeze strokes my face with the tips of her hair, then her lips touch my cheek. “Please forgive her,” she says, her breath on my skin, then she is past, she is gone, and the two of them walk down to the beach, down the stairs, that impassable barrier to wheels.

        Not pity. Compassion. I can accept compassion, the hand of one sufferer held out to another.

        That night, and for many nights after, my futile dreams are about red hair and a freckled face.

        I turn my chair to face the beach once more, to track them across the sand. The red-head turns, her glasses flashing the sun into my eyes, and she raises a hand in farewell.

        When their shapes have dissolved into the distance, into the crowd, I work my little control wheel, telling my chair to return home. I trundle up the driveway, up the ramp, and bump through the back door.

        I pass Harker, who is helping himself to some milk. “G’day, Wyn,” he says, open face smiling. Harker is two years younger, my brother, my mate, my liberator. He chose his occupation, his life’s work, so he could design electronic wonders for my use: the chair, the bed, the six devices that together allow me to paint.

        I spit out the control. The chair stops. “I’d like to start a new painting,” I tell him. Of all the people in the world, only two understand my words: Harker and Mother.

        He carries his glass and walks beside me to my room. From here, the beach is a distant background through the eastern window that’s half a wall. My wonderful bed is against the west wall, under the ceiling rails of the lifting machine, now parked over the bath.

        He takes the current, part-finished painting off the easel. It’s four A4 sheets, the top left-hand quadrant complete. One day, if ever I return to it, it will be a yellow rose with bright sunlight caught in little droplets of water.

        Harker leans the board against the wall, and looks at me with a question.

        “Eight by four,” I say, and he whistles in surprise. I’ve just asked him to set up several months of work.

        While he is fetching a board of suitable size, and adjusting the easel, and tacking up sheets of blank paper, I stop the chair at my work station, facing the screen. This screen is worth more than the house.

        The computer control sits on a flexible stalk. I spit out the chair control and after a few attempts “swallow the mouse,” an old family joke. And for hours at a time, every day I work on the two girls. Each of thirty-two sheets is eight frames, and a frame might take me an hour, or a day.

        I look at the easel with its numbered pages, and I can see, projected onto it, the painting as it will be. I choose a page, and a segment of it the size of a business card. I start a blank frame, which is a ten times magnified white sheet on the screen. Click, click, I use the marvellous tools of my graphics program to create electronic brush strokes that fill the screen with living colour. Three hours pass, as pixel by pixel I create the left lens of the glasses, half a minute to modify a mirror image for the right.

        When the eight frames of a page are done, I activate the printer, Harker’s printer that uses acrylic paints, and when all the layers are dry, Mother or Harker glues the sheet into place, and I move onto another tile of my mosaic.

      Rita

      Who is your favourite character and why?

      Bob

      I see this as two questions. Told you I can’t fit into other people’s expectations!

      1. From books I’ve read, Garion, the hero of The Belgariad, has to be a contender. He develops from an orphan boy annoying his aunt in the kitchen to the greatest hero of all time in the reality of the story. Then there is of course Bilbo Baggins, The Hobbit. I do have a soft spot for The Cat in the Hat and every one of the other people Dr. Seuss has introduced to the world. After all, they fit very well into the life of a professional grandfather. And Jean d’Arc was a real person, but she is one of my favourites too.

      2. I have equal difficulty choosing from among the people in my own writing, because I cannot play favourites with my children! Anikó, the person whose life I recount my biography, probably ties with Flora Fielding in Sleeper, Awake, except there is Heather, who became the war leader of the Ehvelen, and young Jim who went to Venus, and Sylvia, the narrator in Hit and Run, and… OH WHAT AN UNFAIR QUESTION! I love them all, even the villains.

      Why? Because if I enjoy a book I am reading, I become the character whose point of view is being presented. So, I am the Lorax, and Bilbo, and whoever is centre stage in the current bit of entertainment. And when I write, I can only do so by becoming my character. One of the major villains in The Stories of the Ehvelen is Moustaf the Areg trader. When writing from his point of view, I don’t see him as a baddie, but as a person whose every action is fully justified from within his reality. He is serving his god by accumulating as much wealth as possible, and other considerations like morality simply don’t get a look in. By BEING him, I can write without having to think, merely channelling.

      Rita

      Which of your books gave you the most pleasure to write?

      Bob

      The current one I am writing at any one time. When I have a fiction project, THAT’S reality, and the everyday world is an unwelcome intrusion. At the moment, I am writing the fourth volume of a science fiction series. The Doom Healer currently has three complete books: The Greatest Force in the Universe; You Can’t Escape Destiny; and The Final Battle. Beta readers have been enthusiastic about them, especially after I’ve incorporated their suggestions for improvement. I am half through the fourth: The Prince of Light, so that’s the one that gives me the most pleasure. But in 1999 – 2000, that was Sleeper, Awake, and so on.

      Rita

      What is the best marketing tip you have received?

      • To have you interview me, Rita. But remember, I am a storyteller.
      • I have deep and detailed knowledge about how to do marketing, and am lousy at putting it into practice. I need a 16 year old kid to be my PR manager. Any takers?
      • My main marketing activity I guess is to have people review my books (not 100% are enthusiastic, but I do pretty well. For example, Ascending Spiral has almost all 5 and 4 star reviews. One nasty person gave it 3 stars.
      • I also do many book reviews, and that’s publicity.
      • Like you, I interview other people on a wide variety of topics, then ask the interviewee to publicise the occasion. The latest is Carolyn Howard-Johnson on her new book, How to Get Great Book Reviews Frugally and Ethically. You can read the interview at my blog. One person leaving a comment before 15th December gets a FREE electronic copy of this book.

        Now, Carolyn is the person to ask about marketing. She is approximately fabulous at it.

      • One of my standard policies is that any person who sends me proof of purchase of any of my books (such as writing a review for it) has earned a second title for free.

      Rita

      How would you describe yourself?

      Bob

      A temporary and reluctant inhabitant of a planet infested with a crazy dominant species. I love people but hate humanity.

      I have too much empathy, and, as you have seen from my responses, no sense of humour whatever.

      I am passionate about working for a change in global culture, from one that encourages and rewards the worst in human nature: greed, hate, aggression, territoriality, to one that encourages and rewards the best in human nature: compassion, decency, generosity, cooperation.

      I seem to have been born a Buddhist, as I discovered at 23 years of age, and this has only grown since.

      Rita

      What do you do when you are not writing or reading?

      Bob

      I’ve retired 5 times so far, from 5 different occupations. Currently I am very active in politics, being the secretary of my local branch of the Australian Greens, and in environmental and humanitarian causes. I play chess online, meditate every day, and occasionally sleep, eat, go to the toilet etc. I do have a shower once a year, whether I need it or not.

      During the past 20 years or so, one of my most rewarding activities has been to answer desperate cries for help: emails, or posts on certain websites, of the kind, “Give me one reason why I should not kill myself.” Even worse are things like “I want to kill everyone at my school.” I email them, and often we stay in contact for years. My words make a difference.

      Rita

      If you could holiday anywhere in the world, where would you choose and why?

      Bob

      In my home, sitting in my recliner chair with my laptop on my lap, writing.

      Holidays are overrated. People need them to get away from a life they don’t like, then of course they take the problems with them. On return, they may need weeks to recover from the holiday.

      Travellers need to spend money at several times the rate of ordinary life, and since 1978, my wife and I have lived a life of voluntary poverty (I explain this insanity in my essay How to change the world). Therefore, we can’t afford holidays, so it’s lucky we don’t feel we need them.

      A tourist has about 5 times the environmental footprint of a person at home. The more interesting destinations are degraded both environmentally and socially by the invasion of foreigners, even if the locals get employment out of it.

      Rita

      If you have owned pets, do you have a funny story you would like to share with us?

      Bob

      Most of my pets have been human. Just today I exchanged emails with a young woman in the Middle East who originally contacted me because of suicidal depression.

      When we were preparing to move out of suburbia, we got a beautiful goat called Nina. She lived in our backyard, only she was very good at hopping over fences. Goats are social people, so she was rather lonely. She kept seeking out company.

      And we had a neighbour who was all too PROPER. He looked at our jungle of a front yard and vegetable-filled backyard with disapproval.

      One day, someone knocked on our front door. There was a heart attack or stroke standing on the step, with the neighbour wrapped around it. He couldn’t quite speak, but managed, “YOUR… GOAT… IS STANDING ON MY WINDOWSILL!”

      Poor Nina was only looking in because she could see another goat in the glass!

      Rita

      What is the biggest factor for you when selecting a book to read?

      Bob

      Usually it’s because someone is paying me to edit it, or I have decided to review it. Sometimes, it’s because I am a judge in a contest, and have to read it, like it or not.

      My criteria for liking a book are:

      • The first paragraph needs to get me in.
      • Characters should be vibrant, three-dimensional, real people. That doesn’t mean they need to be human. I’ve read excellent books about dragons, and cats and rabbits and space rocks.
      • There should be a good pace to the story. Too much description will cool my interest very quickly. Everything, including subplots, should relate to the plot in a meaningful way.
      • Language should be clear and unpretentious. Actually, one of my recent blog posts, Clever turns of phrase, is about this.
      • I am an obsessive editor. It annoys me a great deal to read a book without proper editing. I want spelling, punctuation, grammar, word use to be CORRECT.
      • Most important, I want to be a better person for having read this story. I want it to challenge me in some way, to make me think about it long after I’ve put it down. I’ve just reviewed a thriller that also exposes the terrible world of what big business is doing to food and medicine. Another about a year ago concerned the ivory trade. Then there is the story of a lady who escaped from the killing fields of Cambodia. And I felt illuminated by reading Malala’s story.

        I don’t just want to fill a few empty hours. Retired or not, my hours are precious. I want to use them to become better informed, to be inspired, to grow.

        Rita

        Do you have your own website?

        Bob

        No. I have four.

        My writing showcase. You’ll find lots of free reading and many other things there.

        My psychology website. It gives inspiration and information regarding every way people make themselves and each other miserable.

        My environmental site. It has a great deal of practical advice and information.

        Most of my current internet activity is at my blog, Bobbing Around. I publish a monthly newsletter there, as well as other posts.

        Rita

        Are you working on a new book at the moment?

        Bob

        The fourth book of the Doom Healer series. Bill knew he was smarter than most people (was doing three graduate programs through the internet at 14, and was an electronic inventor), but didn’t realise his true nature. A person who had invaded earth 10,000 years ago knew, though, and was determined to murder Bill as soon as he could.

        I have a faithful band of beta readers who have loved the first 3 volumes. I am open to have others read these books and give their feedback.

        Rita

        Do you have any events or book promotions coming up that you would like to tell us about?

        Bob

        • My time machine is malfunctioning at the moment. Otherwise I’d tell you about the Goodreads giveaway of Ascending Spiral in which my generous publisher gifted 9 people with paper copies. But now, I won’t even mention it.
        • As I said, anyone buying a copy of any of my books anywhere can earn a second title for free by contacting me. Look at the list.
        • Readers have told me that my coming book Hit and Run is my best yet. I am looking for advance reviewers, so this is a chance to get a FREE copy at the prepub page.
        • I would like to say one more thing. I’d love to have your visitors comment on this interview, and have a chat with us about approximately anything. You don’t have the facility for comments, but my blog does. So, I have made a page at Bobbing Around where they can do so. I’ll then choose one commenter at random to win a copy of one of my electronic books. That’s any of them, except for the Earth Garden Building Book.

          Finally, thank you for having me here, and I am happy for you and anyone else to submit suitable items to my newsletter Bobbing Around. For example, you could publicise your future interviews.


          Rita Lee Chapman was born in London and moved to Australia in her early twenties. It was only when she retired that she wrote her first novel, Missing in Egypt, a romantic travel mystery. Winston — A Horse’s Tale followed, written for horse lovers like herself. “It was the book I had to write.” Her latest book, Dangerous Associations, is her first foray into crime mystery.

          When she’s not writing or reading, Rita enjoys playing tennis, swimming and taking walks along the local beaches, lakes and river.

          ritac1

          Missing in Egypt

          Missing in Egypt will intrigue you with its twists and turns, romance and adventure as well as its insights into Australian and Egyptian cultures. Australian Anna Davies travels to Egypt with her lover to help him search for his brother, who disappeared whilst on holiday. The Valley of the Kings, Abu Simbel and the Temple of Karnak are amongst the settings for their search. Will they be able to track him down and find him alive — or is Ramy already dead? What tragedies await Anna and Kareem as they come closer to retracing his footsteps? This fast-paced action plot will keep you guessing until the end.
          Amazon
          Smashwords
          Large print edition

          ritac2

          Winston — A Horse’s Tale

          One for horse lovers! Winston is a good-looking palomino horse whose life involves several different owners and many adventures. As you read his story, told by Winston himself, you will appreciate horse ownership from the horse’s point of view. Born on a country property in Australia, Winston tells of his breaking-in and education and the different people he encounters — good, bad and ignorant. As well as his own story, Winston includes the experiences of other horses he meets along life’s way.
          Whether it’s jumping, eventing, hunting or just hacking, Winston tries hard to please his rider. Follow his successes and his failures from his breaking-in to his show jumping win. It is an eventful life — the story of one Australian horse out of thousands, but one that you will remember.
          Amazon
          Smashwords

          ritac3

          Dangerous Associations

          An ex-husband, a new love, a stalker. Cathy Thompson’s link to her ex-husband fills her life with threats and intimidation. She must either trap her stalker or find Geoffrey to put an end to her life of fear.

          Amazon
          Smashwords
          Large Print Edition

About Dr Bob Rich

I am a professional grandfather. My main motivation is to transform society to create a sustainable world in which my grandchildren and their grandchildren in perpetuity can have a life, and a life worth living. This means reversing environmental idiocy that's now threatening us with extinction, and replacing culture of greed and conflict with one of compassion and cooperation.
This entry was posted in Interviews, Interviews of me. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Chatting with Rita Chapman

  1. Teri B Clark says:

    I enjoyed your interview with Rita. Although I’ve “known” you through JWW, I didn’t really know you at all. I’m currently writing my first novel. I’ve written a few self-help books, but this novel has been eating away at me for years, and I’ve been afraid to let it out. With non-fiction, if someone doesn’t like what you’ve written, you can just assume they didn’t care for the topic. In fiction, they don’t care for your style or characters. Since the style and characters are ME in disguise, having people turn away hurts. So, I’ve kept the story inside. Until now. I’m almost done with my first draft. I’ve realized along the way that I have a lot of editing to do, but it feels good to have it “on paper.” (Like you, I put everything on the computer, but the term “on paper” still sounds nice to me!!)

    Like

    • Dr Bob Rich says:

      Thank you for being the first commenter, Teri.
      I used to make lovely little woodcarvings, and one day I went to a community market and sat there, whittling away, hoping to sell a few of my productions. Every time someone walked by and didn’t bother to admire them, I bled inside. So, I DO know what you mean!
      But what if you release this book, and people love it?
      If enough of it is complete to make the exercise worthwhile, I am happy to give you a beta read, in exchange for an advance review of Hit and Run.
      🙂
      Bob

      Like

      • Teri B Clark says:

        My book is almost written for the first time. I have done no editing at all (ie, all the commas will be wrong!!). If you are willing to look it over at this early, early stage, I would appreciate it. If you don’t think this is the best time, I hope to have the first major edit done by the end of February. What do you think?

        Like

    • Hi Teri. Congratulations on completing the first draft of your fiction book. It is a great feeling of satisfaction to finally have it down on paper. Nowadays, with self-publishing, there is no reason why your book won’t make it into print. Unfortunately there are always some people who won’t like your writing whilst others will love it, so try not to take it too personally and develop a thick hide! I hope you have all 5* reviews!

      Like

  2. Dr Bob Rich says:

    This is actually the right time for a beta read, which focuses on content rather than presentation. I’ll send you a private email.
    🙂
    Bob

    Like

Leave a Reply

