Vipassana Appraisal

10aloka

Second Vipassana appraisal

I started learning meditation techniques in 1972, and have been doing daily meditation since about 2004. I regularly taught meditation to my clients, to their great benefit. However, I’d never received formal instruction.

Now that I am retired from my counselling psychological practice, I have fewer outside obligations, so at last I could find a sufficient stretch of time to attend a retreat and learn. Over the years, I’d often driven past the Vipassana Meditation Centre in Woori Yallock, near where I live, so enrolled for a 10 day course. I really thought I was going to learn meditation, but matters turned out very differently, and very much better.

One-sentence summary: Vipassana was like my hip replacement surgery — a lot to go through, but with immense benefits.

Positives:
• When I was 21, I had a transcendental experience: I sat for many hours of a night in pouring rain, without discomfort, unaware of the passage of time. Then I didn’t have another one for 50 years. On day 7 of the course I experienced being a weightless golden glow, so beautiful that afterward I cried with joy. All my life, I have been emotionally undemonstrative, so this is more remarkable for me than for most other people. I had another, less intense experience the same day. On day 8, I had 3 such experiences, one so overpowering that I needed to seek the teacher’s help. On day 9, there were two more, simply peaceful and uplifting.
• All my life, I have carried a lot of trauma. Some were dealt with through hypnosis in 2007, but the work I did on myself during these 10 days has been far more beneficial. It amounts to a personality change, though we’re to see how durable and robust. Spontaneously processing past suffering is part of the theoretically predicted benefits of Vipassana. To sum it up, what has been in my head, an intellectual, deliberate behaviour pattern, has moved to my heart and guts. This is immensely satisfying.
• I am more aware of physical sensations of all kinds. When driving home, I felt the air from the ventilator on my hand as if the fan was on, but the fan was off. Vision seems brighter, clearer. Sounds, even ordinary sounds, have beauty in them. At the same time, I can focus my attention better, so distractions have less effect and are easier to keep in the background.
• I developed an ability to block out pain as a young man. Now, instead, I can stay aware of pain, observe it, and yet be unaffected by it. One side effect I’ve observed after a day at home is that I am able to do more repetitions of power exercises.
• Perhaps most important, I feel I have learned a tool for moving toward spiritual growth.

Other nice things:
• The food was wonderful, tasty, varied, nutritious, and in abundance.
• The location is in a beautiful setting with lovely views. Despite the drought, there were plants and animals to be enjoyed.
• Although there was firmness about fitting into a set of rules, some of them undeclared until broken, we were treated with kindness, respect, decency and caring. I particularly developed an admiration for the teacher, Jamie Edwards. (Officially, Goenka was the teacher and Mr and Mrs Edwards the Assistant Teachers, but I think I learned more from Jamie than from Goenka.)

Negatives:
• Boredom. A major source of frustration was due to my pre-existing competence in mindfulness meditation. For much of the first 3 days, I was bored out of my mind. We were taught to focus on the breathing in the first session of instruction, then had to practice the skill for a total of 9 hours in various sessions, then a small change in technique was introduced, which had to be practiced for 9 hours… In fact, I noticed that some students needed all this time (and more), and in group instruction one needs to go with the slowest. Typically, I competently performed the task after 10 minutes, and felt no more need for practice after 2 hours. Since everything is (rightly) organised to eliminate all potentially distracting activities, I had nothing to do but meditate, or walk a little, or think about something else. And with no way of writing my thoughts down, I could do only so much useful work on other things like the novel I am writing at the moment.
• The teaching emphasises that Vipassana is based on a universal truth, a law of nature that applies to all people in all situations. Why then do we need so many Pali words? (Pali is to Buddhism what Latin is to Roman Catholicism.) A universal truth should be just as easy to explain in any language, including English.
• During the first few days in particular, I had a strong negative reaction to the chanting. This eased toward the end, but even on the last day, I merely treated it with acceptance and tolerance. We were told, time and again, that this activity is not religious but applies to people of any faith or no faith at all. Extended recitals from the Buddhist “scriptures” contradict this. However, to be fair, many others seemed to enjoy the chanting.

On day 3, my teacher, Jamie Edwards, permitted me to go ahead and experiment, and after this things improved. I found myself anticipating exercises introduced a day or two later, and others not in the course (or perhaps typically achieved in longer, more advanced courses).

Since my situation is clearly unusual, my experience may not be a good guide for people not already competent in meditation. All the same, I can make some general points that will help others to decide whether to do a Vipassana course, and to get the most out of it if they do.

The whole experience is very cleverly organised to maximise the chances of making major habit changes in a few days:
• Although there is generous allowance of free time, it can’t be spent on any customary activity such as chatting (Noble Silence prohibits even nonverbal communication), watching TV (no electronic devices allowed), reading, writing (no books or writing materials), or vigorous exercise (brisk walking is the maximum permissible). So, there is nothing to do but the work you came for.
• As in recruit training or boot camp, normal routine is as strongly disrupted as possible. You are awakened at 4 am, lights out at 9:30 pm; lunch is at 11 am, and evening meal is a couple of pieces of fruit (not even that for “old students”); men and women are separated except for sitting for formal meditation in the same hall; all activities are to a strict timetable. This is one of the reasons several reports on the internet refer to it as a “cult.” In fact, all the changes can be justified in terms of speeding up the learning experience, and also, amount to a mimicry of life in a monastic order.
• You are challenged to go through a pain barrier. This is not unique to Vipassana, but is part of most mindfulness meditation practices, and has remarkably liberating and empowering effects. You become stronger and more confident by meeting a major physical challenge. This then improves your ability to deal with the mental exercises.

For me, the high point of every day except day 7 was the Discourse from Goenka. On day 7 it started with a commercial, which I found off-putting, then mostly repeated content from previous days. But the other Discourses were inspiring, entertaining and illuminating. Together, they describe a highly moral value system, and are largely in accord with my understanding of what modern science tells us about our universe.

We live at a time when humanity has a real, calculable probability of self-induced extinction. The only thing with a hope of reversing this idiocy is culture change, away from greed and aggression; to compassion, cooperation, simplicity, decency. This is the message of my book Ascending Spiral, and it is Goenka’s message. There is a beautiful Shintoist saying: “There are many mountains to God, and many paths up each mountain.” Ascending Spiral and Vipassana are two paths up the same mountain.

About Dr Bob Rich

I am a professional grandfather. My main motivation is to transform society to create a sustainable world in which my grandchildren and their grandchildren in perpetuity can have a life, and a life worth living. This means reversing environmental idiocy that's now threatening us with extinction, and replacing culture of greed and conflict with one of compassion and cooperation.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Vipassana Appraisal

  1. Pingback: Vipassana Appraisal | Bobbing Around

  2. Dear Dr. Bob,
    I’m glad that you received information and new ways of meditating that you’ve found to be rewarding to you. It’s interesting to me about how many people say they don’t have rules but really do. Good luck in incorporating peace within.

    Never Give Up
    Joan

    Like

  3. bobrich18 says:

    Thank you for your comment, Joan.
    When I wrote Ascending Spiral, I created Pip, who is the person I would like to be but am not. After the Vipassana course, I now have the belief that I can become Pip, in this life, and perhaps be able to get off the wheel of rebirth.
    🙂
    Bob

    Like

  4. rijanjks says:

    This recount of your retreat was especially interesting to me as I too have been practicing meditation since the 1970s. I totally embrace the experiences that come to me through meditation. I would love to have the opportunity to participate in an intensive retreat such as this (minus the first three boring days). Thank you for sharing!

    Like

    • bobrich18 says:

      Well, boredom is something else we can treat with acceptance and non-attachment! It was probably very good training for me, and perhaps opportunities I missed.
      🙂
      Bob

      Like

  5. Steb Fisher says:

    Dear Bob,
    Very good to hear your experiences of Vipassana. I did a 10 day “sit” 16 years ago. I was very new to meditation and struggled to stay with it, but nonetheless settled by the end. You description gets me thinking about doing another.
    . . . and I love your image of the professional grandfather
    Go well

    Steb

    Like

    • bobrich18 says:

      Thank you Steb. There are people who do another 10 day retreat every few months.
      It’s great being a professional grandfather. Just in the past week, I acquired 2 more grandkids: a 20 year old girl with boyfriend troubles, and a 10 year old from a very traumatic background. It gives me a great deal of pleasure to be able to be of service to them.
      🙂
      Bob

      Like

  6. Ronny says:

    Dear Dr. Bob, it was great to read about your experience, and the follow up 3 day sessions. While I have heard about Vipassana meditation as a long time Buddhist, I wasn’t aware of Dhamma Aloka at Woori Yallock. As I work at Lilydale which isn’t far away, I’m planning to take a couple of weeks off from work and do the 10 day retreat soon. Looking forward to some “quiet time”.
    🙂

    Peace always
    Ronny

    Like

Leave a Reply

